Shahid Afridi-led Rawalakot Hawks win inaugural KPL title

By: News Desk      Published: 12:14 AM, 18 Aug, 2021
Shahid Afridi-led Rawalakot Hawks win inaugural KPL title

The Rawalakot Hawks Tuesday defeated the Muzaffarabad Tigers by seven runs to win the final of the Kashmir Premier League (KPL) at the Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium.

The Muzaffarabad Tigers were able to score 162 runs in 20 overs against the fall of seven wickets, after being given a 170-run target.

The Tigers' Zeeshan Ashraf remained prominent in his side's efforts, scoring 46 runs off 26 balls. Zeeshan Ashraf was followed by Muhammad Hafeez (29), Muhammad Waseem Jr. (22), and Sohail Tanveer (21).

The Hawks' bowlers Asif Afridi and Hussain Talat gave a stellar performance with each bagging 3 wickets each. Skipper Shahid Afridi also sent two players back to the pavilion.

In the first innings, the Hawks' Kashif Ali remained prominent as he scored a half-century with 54 runs. Kashif Ali was followed by Bismillah Khan (30), Sahibzada Farhan (28), and Umar Amin (23).

At the bowler's end, the Tigers' Muhammad Hafeez and Usama Mir managed to grab two wickets each.

Categories : Sports