Zimbabwe beat Sri Lanka by 22 runs to level ODI series

Published: 05:43 PM, 18 Jan, 2022
Zimbabwe beat Sri Lanka by 22 runs to level ODI series
Caption: Zimbabwe's players celebrate their victory at the end of the second one-day international (ODI) cricket match between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Zimbabwe beat Sri Lanka by 22 runs in the second one-day international to level the three-match series at 1-1 on Tuesday as home captain Dasun Shanaka's 102 went in vain.

Skipper Craig Ervine (91) and Sikandar Raza (56) powered Zimbabwe to 302 for eight after electing to bat first in Kandy.

The bowlers then kept Sri Lanka to 280-9 despite a 118-run fifth-wicket stand between Shanaka, who hit his first ODI century, and Kamindu Mendis, who made 57.

The deciding match is on Friday at the same venue.

Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe second ODI scoreboard

Final scoreboard of the second one-day international between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe in Kandy on Tuesday:


T. Kaitano b Vandersay                   26

R. Chakabva st Kusal b Vandersay         47

C. Ervine b Theekshana                   91

S. Williams st Kusal b Vandersay         48

W. Madhevere b Karunaratne                1

S. Raza c Karunaratne b Pradeep          56

R. Burl run out (Chameera)               19

W. Mazakadza c Chameera b N Pradeep       0

B. Muzarabani not out                     0

Extras (b3, lb6, w3, nb2)                14

Total (8 wickets, 50 overs)             302

Did not bat: T. Chatara, R. Ngarava 

Fall of wickets: 1-59 (Kaitano), 2-90 (Chakabva), 3-196 (Williams), 4-205 (Madhevere), 5-256 (Ervine), 6-297 (Burl), 7-298 (Masakadza), 8-302 (Raza)

Bowling: Pradeep 10-0-74-2 (nb2), Chameera 9-0-47-0 (w3), Shanaka 2-0-14-0, Vandersay 9-0-51-3, Theekshana 10-0-49-1, Karunaratne 6-0-24-1, Kamindu 2-0-19-0, Asalanka 2-0-15-0

Sri Lanka (target 303)

P. Nissanka c Chakabva b Muzarabani      16 

Kusal Mendis b Chatara                    7

Kamindu Mendis c Ervine b Ngarava        57

D. Chandimal c Raza b Muzarabani          2

C. Asalanka b Madhevere                  23

D. Shanaka c Raza b Chatara             102

C. Karunaratne run out (Williams)        34

D. Chameera c Masakadza b Chatara        13

J. Vandersay c Chakabva b Muzarabani      4

M. Theekshana not out                     4

N. Pradeep not out                        5

Extras (lb5, nb1, w7)                    13

Total (9 wickets, 50 overs)             280  

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Kusal), 2-25 (Nissanka), 3-31 (Chandimal), 4-63 (Asalanka), 5-181 (Kamindu), 6-247 (Shanaka), 7-266 (Karunaratne), 8-268 (Chameera), 9-273 (Vandersay)

Bowling: Chatara 10-1-52-3, Muzarabani 10-0-56-3 (w6, nb1), Madhevere 4-0-30-1, Ngarava 10-1-41-1 (w1), Masakadaza 8-0-34-0, Williams 6-0-48-0, Burl 2-0-14-0

Toss: Zimbabwe

Result: Zimbabwe won by 22 runs


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.