PTI gains numbers to form govt in Punjab after by-election win

PTI, PML-Q’s combined numbers in PA reach 188 | Independents considering reviewing their decision to support PML-N

By: News Desk
Published: 01:28 PM, 18 Jul, 2022
PTI gains numbers to form govt in Punjab after by-election win
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Following victory on 15, out of total 20 Punjab Assembly (PA) seats in the by-elections held yesterday (Sunday, July 17, 2022), Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) has now gained the numbers required to form its government in the province, reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Monday.

The party’s numerical strength in the provincial assembly now stands at 178, and with the addition of 10 MPAs belonging to the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), the strength goes up to 188; two digits above the numbers required for the formation of government.     

On the other hand, after win on just four seats of the PA, the number of MPAs belonging to the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) stands at 168, while the party also enjoys the support of seven MPAs of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), which takes the total to 175. 

Sources have told 24News that the independents and the MPAs belonging to Rahe Haq Party have now mulling revisiting their decision to support the PML-N-led government in Punjab.

As soon as results of the by-polls started going on air, the ruling PML-N leader Malik Ahmad Khan wasted no time in admitting defeat.

Party’s Vice President Maryam Nawaz, too, in a tweet said that the defeat should be admitted with an open heart.

Soon after getting the results, PML-N supremo Mian Nawaz Sharif also made telephonic contact with Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif from London and advised him to call the party meeting tomorrow (Monday) to make future strategies. PM Shehbaz has summoned the party session on Monday.

Coalition partner of the PML-N government, the Pakistan People's Party Chairman Bilawal Bhutto has also summoned a hybrid meeting of the Central Executive Council at Bilawal House Karachi tomorrow (Monday) at 4 pm to discuss the political scenario created after the Punjab by-election results.

According to the results, PTI candidates Sardar Saifuddin Khosa, Zain Qureshi, Mian Akram Usman, Khurram Shehzad Virk, Pir Amir Iqbal Shah, Irfanullah Niazi, Qaiser Abbas Magsi, Azam Cheela, Hassan Aslam Awan, Ali Afzal Sahi, Shabbir Gujar, and Maj (R) Ghulam Sarwar have won elections while Zaheer Abbas Khokhar, Mian Azam Cheela from Jhang, Khurram Shehzad from Sheikhupura are also in a clear position to win.

While the ruling Nawaz League's three candidates Asad Khokhar from Lahore, Sabtain Raza from Muzaffargarh and Fida Hussain from Bahawalnagar won the election after a tough contest with PTI.

Interestingly, an independent candidate Pir Rafiuddin Bukhari has also succeeded to snatch a seat of PP-228 Lodhran from the PTI and the PML-N. He belongs to the Shaheed Kanju group.

Reporter: Ali Akbar