Jahangir Tareen group announces parliamentary leaders in NA, PA

Raja Riaz becomes group's parliamentary leader in National Assembly

By: News Desk      Published: 11:45 PM, 18 May, 2021
Jahangir Tareen group announces parliamentary leaders in NA, PA

A bloc of lawmakers supporting Jahangir Tareen has formally announced its parliamentary leaders in the national and provincial assemblies,  24NewsHD reported on Tuesday.

Sources said the name of the bloc is Jahangir Tareen Likeminded Group,

MNA Raja Riaz will represent the group, titled Jahangir Tareen Likeminded Group, in the National Assembly while Saad Akbar has been posted to the Punjab Assembly as parliamentary leader, disgruntled leaders of PTI Awn Chaudhry and Salman Naeem told the media persons

Salman Naeem said they would show strengthen in the Punjab Assembly on Friday.

Nauman Ahmad Langrial said they are standing by Jahangir Tareen and no one issued a statement against PM Imran Khan and Punjab CM Usman Buzdar. He said they won’t let the PTI week.

Reacting to the development, Farukh Habib said Imran Khan will not bow to blackmailing. Farukh said the premier will stand firm for the sake of accountability. Faisal Javed took to social media in reaction to the announcement of the group. "Imran Khan is PTI & PTI is Imran Khan," he tweeted.

On May 3, a meeting of group members decided to keep wait and see strategy till Eid after a recent meeting with the prime minister. Last month, Raja Riaz told the media that they appeal to the prime minister for justice. He said he and other like-minded lawmakers believe that Tareen is being humiliated through cases like sugar scandal scams.

According to him, 40 members of both houses of the Parliament were demanding justice from the premier. Tareen said he had money in the proper manner and added he did not earn money in politics.