Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 4 wickets in first T20 in Dhaka

By: News Desk
Published: 10:37 AM, 19 Nov, 2021
Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 4 wickets in first T20 in Dhaka
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan clichéd victory over Bangladesh in a breathtaking match by 4 wickets. Earlier the top order was toppled by Bangladeshi bowlers but later it was the power show of Khusdil Shah and Fakhar Zaman that helped Pakistan to reconstruct innings. Nawaz and Shadab powered Pakistan to victory  in Dhaka today.

Chasing the target of 128 runs, Pakistan team scored 55 runs with the loss of four wickets in the first 12 overs. Pakistan batsmen were on course in pursuit of 128-run target to win the first T20 International against Bangladesh.

Rizwan out for 11 runs and skipper Babar walked back to pavilion, scoring 7 runs. Haider Ali gone for duck, while Shoaib Malik got run out, without troubling the scorers. For Bangladesh, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman and Taskin Ahmed took a scalp each.

Bangladesh could manage to score 127 runs for the loss of seven wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

In reply, Pakistan were 16 without losing any wicket in the third over.

Earlier, Bangladeshi batting line-up was rocked by some quality bowling by the Pakistani bowlers, as the hosts opted to bat after winning the toss in the first T20 International.

Bangladeshi batsmen have posted only 15 runs in five overs as their top three batters were sent back to the pavilion by the Pakistani bowlers.

Earlier, Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah Riyad won the toss and elected to bat in the first Twenty20 international against Pakistan at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Pakistan rested star pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi and have brought in Mohammad Wasim Jr for the first game of the three-match series. 

Haider Ali, Mohammad Nawaz and Khushdil Shah have also been included in the starting line-up.

Bangladesh handed top-order batsman Saif Hasan his Twenty20 international debut.


Bangladesh: Mahmudullah Riyad (capt), Mohammad Naim, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Nawaz, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Bangladesh vs Pakistan first T20I scoreboard

Bangladesh innings

Mohammad Naim c Rizwan b Hasan 1

Saif Hassan c Fakhar b Wasim 1

Najmul Hossain c & b Wasim 7

Afif Hossain st Rizwan b Shadab 36

Mahmudullah Riyad b Nawaz 6

Nurul Hasan c Rizwan b Hasan 28

Mahedi Hasan not out 30

Aminul Islam b Hasan 2

Taskin Ahmed not out 8

Extras (lb1, w7) 8

Total (seven wickets; 20 overs) 127

Did not bat: Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Naim), 2-10 (Saif), 3-15 (Najmul), 4-40 (Mahmudullah), 5-61 (Afif), 6-96 (Nurul), 7-110 (Aminul)

Bowling: Nawaz 4-0-27-1 (w1), Hasan 4-0-22-3 (w2), Wasim 4-0-24-2 (w2), Haris 4-0-33-0 (w2), Shadab 4-1-20-1

Pakistan innings

Mohammad Rizwan b Mustafizur 11

Babar Azam b Taskin 7

Fakhar Zaman c Nurul b Taskin 34

Haider Ali lbw b Mahedi 0

Shoaib Malik run out 0

Khushdil Shah c Nurul b Shoriful 34

Shadab Khan not out 21

Mohammad Nawaz not out 18

Extras (lb 2, w5) 7

Total (six wickets, 19.2 overs) 132

Did not bat: Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Haris Rauf

Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Rizwan), 2-22 (Babar), 3-23 (Haider), 4-24 (Shoaib), 5-80 (Fakhar), 6-96 (Khushdil)

Bowling: Mahedi 4-0-17-1, Taskin 4-0-31-2 (w2), Mustafizur 4-0-26-1 (w2), Shoriful 4-0-31-1 (w1), Mahmudullah 3-0-19-0, Aminul 0.2-0-6-0

Result: Pakistan won by four wickets