New Zealand win T20I series against Pakistan despite Hafeez heroics

By: News Desk      Published: 10:51 AM, 20 Dec, 2020
New Zealand win T20I series against Pakistan despite Hafeez heroics

New Zealand won the T20 International cricket series against Pakistan as they defeated the visitors by heavy margin of nine wickets in the second of the three-match series played at Seddon Park in Hamilton on Sunday.

The hosts have won the first two matches and the third is yet to be played.

Only opener Martin Guptill got out for 21 as the New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and the other opener 

Tim Seifert saw their side home in the last over the match. 

Set 164 runs target to win, the New Zealanders achieved the target in 19.2 overs with Williamson not out on 57 and Seifert unbeaten on 84.

Hafeez stranded on 99

Earlier, Mohammed Hafeez was left stranded on 99 as Pakistan set New Zealand a 164-run target. 

Hafeez was out first ball when New Zealand won the opening match on Friday by five wickets, but was the only batsman to find form two days later.

In a stay of 57 balls, he peppered the boundary with 10 fours and five sixes as Pakistan reached 163 for six in their 20 overs after winning the toss and electing to bat.

Mohammad Rizwan (22) was the only other batsman to pass the 20 mark.

For New Zealand, Tim Southee took four for 21

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat in the second Twenty20 against New Zealand in Hamilton on Sunday.

"It looks to be a very good pitch and we want to get a good score on the board," said stand-in captain Shadab Khan.

Khan also won the toss and opted to bat in the first match only to lose by five wickets at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday.

With the injured Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman still not available, the pressure is on Abdullah Shafique and Mohammad Hafeez to get runs in Hamilton.

"We were rusty in the last game but hopefully we will do better here," Khan said with Pakistan keeping the same line up.

New Zealand have made four changes, with Kane Williamson returning from paternity leave to lead the side and with Test bowlers Tim Southee, Trent Boult and Kyle Jamieson being added.

It meant there was no room for Jacob Duffy who, in the first match, produced the best figures by a New Zealand bowler in a Twenty20 debut.

"It's a good surface here usually, we need to do the job first up with the ball," Williamson said.

"It was a good performance at Eden Park and it's important that we stick to our plans and adapt to the new conditions."



M. Rizwan c Seifert b Southee   22

H. Ali c Williamson b Soutee     8

A. Shafique c&b Southee          0

M. Hafeez not out               99

S. Khan c Southee b Neesham      4

K. Shah c Guptill b Kuggeleijn  14

F. Ashraf c Williamson b Southee 4

I. Wasim not out                10

Extras (lb2)                     2

Total (six wickets; 20 overs)  163

Did not bat: Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf.

Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Ali), 2-16 (Shafique), 3-33 (Rizwan), 4-56 (Khan), 5-119 (Shah), 6-133 (Ashraf) 

Bowling: Boult 4-0-33-0, Southee 4-0-21-4, Jamieson 4-0-43-0, Kuggeleijn 3-0-33-0, Neesham 2-0-10-1, Sodhi 3-0-21-1

New Zealand

M. Guptill c Rauf b Ashraf      21

T. Seifert not out              84

K. Williamson not out           57

Extras (w2)                      2

Total (one wicket; 19.2 overs) 164

Did not bat: Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, James Neesham, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.

Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Guptill)

Bowling: Afridi 4-0-38-0 (1w), Rauf 4-0-39-0 (1w), Ashraf 3.2-0-19-1, Riaz, 1-0-19-0, Khan 4-0-24-0, Wasim 3-0-25-0

Toss: Pakistan

Result: New Zealand won by nine wickets

Series: New Zealand 2-0 

Man of the match: Tim Southee (NZL)

Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Shaun Haig (NZL)

TV umpire: Wayne Knights (NZL)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)