Rizwan, Willey steer Sultans to victory, United reach playoffs 

By: News Desk
Published: 10:49 PM, 20 Feb, 2022
Rizwan, Willey steer Sultans to victory, United reach playoffs 
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Multan Sultans emerged victorious over Islamabad United in a tight finish in the 29th match, which was the final clash of the group stage of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

Chasing a target of 106 runs, Multan Sultans were four down for 43 runs. Sultans’ captain Mohammad Rizwan and David Willey anchored a run chase after a jittery start and completed the chase in the 18th over, as Sultans scored 111/4. As Rizwan once again played a solid role to put the Sultans’ victorious. Rizwan showed patience and scored unbeaten 51 runs off 42 balls and David Willey scored unbeaten 28 off 32 .

Other than that Tim David was only batter after Rizwan and Willey to enter the double figure. As he scored 17 runs off 12 balls. Shan Masood and Aamer Azmat could manage to score 4 runs each.

For United, Liam Dawson remained the standout bowler who took three wickets and conceded only 16 runs in his four overs. Other than that, Zahid Mahmood took a wicket.

Earlier, Nasir Nawaz and Mohammad Huraira started the innings for the Islamabad United which was not good as Huraira was dismissed for 9 runs. 

The new batsman arrived on the crease was Liam Dawson, who could not stay on the wicket for a long time and was undone by David Willey for 22 runs, when the United were on 36.

Nasir Nawaz and Azam Khan also could not face the bowlers of Sultans as four players of the United were cleaned up by Sultans for 52 runs.

When Asif Ali came to the wicket, he also failed and got out on the total score of 64 by scoring only 9 runs. Danish Aziz also was undone by Tim David, who added only 6 runs on the scored card. Zafar Gohar was dismissed for 9 runs on a total score of 77.

Islamabad United scored 105 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Mohammad Musa posted 26 and Liam Dawson scored 22 runs, while 6 players of the United could not enter the double figure.

Sultans' Imran Tahir and Asif Afridi bagged two wickets each. David Willey, Shahnawaz Dahani and Tim David took a wicket apiece.

Despite, losing this match which was quite important for the Islamabad United, the Asif XI have made it to the playoffs. This match officially confirmed the end of Quetta Gladiator’s campaign in this year PSL.

It is pertinent to note that Islamabad United won the toss and elected to bat first against Multan Sultans.