United win toss, elect to bat first

By: News Desk
Published: 07:10 PM, 20 Feb, 2022
United win toss, elect to bat first
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

In the final clash of the group stage, Islamabad United (ISU) have won the toss and elected to bat first against Multan Sultans (MS) in the 29th match of the seventh edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

For Islamabad United, this is the must-win game for them to make their way to the playoffs. Even though, if they lost, United will qualify for the playoffs, if they lost with a narrow margin. Multan Sultans, on the other hand, have already made it to the playoffs.

For Multan Sultans, the key to success will be Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan, Imran Tahir and Khushdil Shah. Islamabad United will rely on Alex Hales and Faheem Ashraf.

Earlier, Quetta Gladiators have clinched victory over Karachi Kings by a winning margin of 23 runs. Helping the Gladiators to get 8 points on the teams’ standings. This levels the Gladiators with United in terms of points, but in terms of net run rate, the Gladiators are lag behind Islamabad United.

 Quetta will heavily rely on Multan Sultans to trash the United, which is almost impossible for the Gladiators, as the Sultans are required to beat the United with at least 156 runs to help the Gladiators to join them in playoffs.


Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c) (wk), Shan Masood, Rilee Rossouw, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, David Willey, Amir Azmat, Asif Afridi, Rumman Raees, Imran Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani

Islamabad United: Nasir Nawaz, Muhammad Huraira, Liam Dawson, Azam Khan (wk), Asif Ali (c), Danish Aziz, Zafar Gohar, Marchant de Lange, Athar Mahmood, Zahid Mahmood, Muhammad Musa