Asalanka, spinners help Sri Lanka clinch ODI series

Published: 11:02 PM, 21 Jun, 2022
Asalanka, spinners help Sri Lanka clinch ODI series
Caption: Sri Lanka's Captain Dasun Shanaka (C) celebrates with team mates after Sri Lanka won by 4 runs during the fourth one-day international (ODI) cricket match between Sri Lanka and Australia at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Charith Asalanka's maiden one-day international century and an inspired spin attack led Sri Lanka to a thrilling four-run series-clinching win over Australia on Tuesday.

The left-handed Asalanka made 110 to guide Sri Lanka to 258 all out, a total that proved just enough to hand the hosts an unbeatable 3-1 lead in the five-match series in Colombo.

Opener David Warner's 99 went in vain as Australia were bowled out for 254 and the island nation won its first bi-lateral series against the Aussies in over a decade. They last won in 2010.

Spinners Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffrey Vandersay and fast bowler Chamika Karunaratne, who was the only regular seamer in the team, took two wickets each.

Pat Cummins' late cameo of 35 and a 12-ball 15 by number 10 Matthew Kuhnemann, who hit three fours as Australia needed 19 from the 50th over, gave Sri Lanka a scare.

Earlier Asalanka rescued Sri Lanka from a precarious 34-3 as he put on 101 runs with Dhananjaya de Silva, who made 60.

Australian bowlers kept coming back with crucial wickets but Asalanka reached his century to the cheers of a raucous home crowd that jumped to their feet to applaud the knock.

Wanindu Hasaranga played a useful cameo of 21 not out as he put together 34 runs for the eighth wicket with Asalanka.

Asalanka finally fell to Cummins and Australia soon wrapped up the innings in 49 overs with two run outs.

In reply, Australia lost skipper Aaron Finch for nought with Karunaratne trapping the opener lbw.

Warner kept his cool and put on 63 runs with Mitchell Marsh who looked good for his 26 before he fell to Dunith Wellalage's left-arm spin.

Australia lost Marnus Labuschagne and wicketkeeper-batsman Alex Carey after they got starts but fell to the Sri Lankan spinners.

The usually attacking Warner held fort to try and grind down the opposition attack as he got Travis Head for company and the two stitched together 58 runs for the fifth wicket.

De Silva bowled the left-handed Head for 27 and Maheesh Theekshana got Glenn Maxwell trapped lbw for one with a successful review after the on-field umpire denied the appeal.

But the big moment came when the left-handed Warner missed out on his ton after getting stumped off de Silva as the home team celebrated the key wicket.

Cameron Green and Cummins attempted to turn the chase on in a 31-run stand but Vandersay bowled Green.

Cummins departed in the 49th over but Kuhnemann fought till the end before getting out on the final ball.

The final match is on Friday at the same venue.

Sri Lanka v Australia fourth ODI scoreboard

Final scoreboard of the fourth one-day international between Sri Lanka and Australia in Colombo on Tuesday:

Sri Lanka

N. Dickwella st Carey b Maxwell               1

P. Nissanka c Carey b Marsh                  13

K. Mendis b Cummins                          14

D. de Silva c Maxwell b Marsh                60

C. Asalanka c Finch b Cummins               110

D. Shanaka run out (Marsh/Carey)              4

D. Wellalage  c Warner b Kuhnemann           19

C. Karunaratne lbw b Kuhnemann                7

W. Hasaranga not out                         21

J. Vandersay run out (Cummins/Carey)          0

M. Theekshana run out (sub Swepson)           0

Extras (lb2, nb1, w6)                         9

Total (all out, 49 overs)                   258

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Dickwella), 2-26 (Mendis), 3-34 (Nissanka), 4-135 (de Silva), 5-150 (Shanaka), 6-207 (Wellalage), 7-222 (Karunaratne), 8-256 (Asalanka), 9-257 (Vandersay), 10-258 (Theekshana)

Bowling: Hazlewood 10-0-45-0 (w1), Maxwell 8-0-49-1 (w1), Kuhnemann 8-0-56-2 (w1), Cummins 9-1-37-2 (w2), Marsh 7-1-29-2 (nb1), Green 5-0-27-0, Labuschagne 2-0-13-0

Australia (target 259)

D. Warner st Dickwella b de Silva           99

A. Finch lbw b Karunaratne                   0

M. Marsh  c de Silva b Wellalage            26

M. Labuschagne lbw b Vandersay              14

A. Carey c Wellalage b Hasaranga            19

T. Head b de Silva                          27

G. Maxwell lbw Theekshana                    1

C. Green b Vandersay                        13

P. Cummins lbw b Karunaratne                35

M. Kuhnemann c Asalanka b Shanaka           15

J. Hazlewood not out                         0

Extras (lb1, nb1, w3)                        5

Total (all out, 50 overs)                  254

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Finch), 2-66 (Marsh), 3-101 (Labuschagne), 4-131 (Carey), 5-189 (Head), 6-190 (Maxwell), 7-192 (Warner), 8-223 (Green), 9-240 (Cummins), 10-254 (Kuhnemann)

Bowling: Karunaratne 5-1-19-2 (w1), Theekshana 10-1-40-1, Hasaranga 10-0-52-1, Wellalage 5-0-29-1 (nb1, w1), de Silva 10-0-39-2, Vandersay 7-0-40-2 (w1), Asalanka 1-0-7-0, Shanaka 2-0-27-1

Result: Sri Lanka won by four runs


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.