Punjab govt imposes section 144 in 11 districts ahead of by-polls

By: News Desk
Published: 03:17 PM, 22 Jun, 2022
Punjab govt imposes section 144 in 11 districts ahead of by-polls
Caption: Representational image.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Punjab government has imposed section 144 in 11 districts of the province, including Lahore, to ensure peace ahead of by-polls to be held in 20 Punjab Assembly (PA) constituencies on July 17, 2022, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.  

The notification issued by the provincial government on Wednesday said that apart from Lahore, section 144, which would remain in effect until July 18, 2022, was imposed in Faisalabad, Jhang, Sheikhupura, Sahiwal, Multan, Lodhran, Bahawalnagar, Layyah and Dera Ghazi Khan districts.   

According to the notification, no person would be allowed to carry arms in these areas, and if found displaying weapons action would be taken against him as per the law.    

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had on May 20, 2022 de-seated 25 members of the Punjab Assembly, belonging to Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), who voted in favour of Hamza Shehbaz Sharif in the election for the seat of chief minister, ignoring party's directives not to do so.

A three-member ECP bench, headed by Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja, announced the 23-page verdict which was unanimous. 

According to the judgement, the ECP said that it had reached the conclusion that during the election of Punjab chief minister, the PTI dissident members cast their votes in favour of the candidate of the rival party. 

“The defection of the (PTI) lawmakers has been proved when they cast their votes in favour of the rival candidate. So the Election Commission has accepted the declaration against the dissident members. The commission cancels the Punjab Assembly membership of the dissidents and their seats are declared vacant,” the verdict stated.

Reporter: Irfan Malik