Sri Lanka dismiss Netherlands for 44 in eight-wicket rout

By: AFP      Published: 07:55 PM, 22 Oct, 2021
T20 world cup
Sri Lanka's Kusal Perera (3L) and teammate Avishka Fernando (3R) walk back to pavilion after their victory at the end of the ICC men’s Twenty20 World Cup cricket match between Sri Lanka and Netherlands.

Bowlers Wanindu Hasaranga and Lahiru Kumara set up a crushing eight-wicket win for Sri Lanka in the final round-one match of the Twenty20 World Cup after they skittled out Netherlands for 44 on Friday

Sri Lanka moved into the Super 12 stage with three wins and top of their group ahead of Namibia who shocked Ireland in the first match of the day in Sharjah.

Hasaranga and Kumara took three wickets each to sink the opposition who survived just 10 overs after being invited to bat first.

The bowlers justified captain Dasun Shanaka's decision to field as spinner Maheesh Theekshana struck twice in his first over after the skipper ran out Max O'Dowd for nought with a direct throw.

Hasaranga kept up the pressure with his twin strikes in his opening over and soon claimed skipper Pieter Seelaar.

Kumara returned to clean up the tail and claim T20 best figures of 3-7 with his pace bowling.

The Dutch though can take consolation that it was not the lowest total -- they were bowled out by the same opponents for 39 in a T20 World Cup match in 2014.

The Netherlands lost all their three games in the qualifying phase.

In reply, Sri Lanka lost two wickets before Kusal Perera, on 33, and Avishka Fernando, on two, steered the team home in 7.1 overs.

Sri Lanka join England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies and Bangladesh in Group 1 of the Super 12s.

Namibia are now clubbed with Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, New Zealand and Scotland in Group 2.

Sri Lanka v Netherlands Twenty20 World Cup scoreboard


S. Myburgh b Theekshana                 5

M. O'Dowd run out (Shanaka)             2

B. Cooper b Theekshana                  9

C. Ackermann lbw b de Silva            11

B. de Leede  lbw b de Silva             0

S. Edwards lbw b Kumara                 8

R. van der Merwe c Perera b Chameera    0

P. Seelaar lbw b de Silva               2

F. Klaassen not out                     1

B. Glover c Perera b Kumara             0

P. van Meekeren lbw b Kumara            0

Extras (b1, lb4, w1)                    6

TOTAL (all out, 10 overs)              44

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (O'Dowd,), 2-19 (Cooper), 3-20 (Myburgh), 4-31 (Ackermann), 5-32 (de Leede), 6-37 (van der Merwe),-40 (Seelaar), 8-44 (Edwards), 9-44 (Glover), 10-44 (Van Meekeren)

Bowling: Karunaratne 1-0-7-0 (w1), Chameera 2-0-13-1, Theekshana 1-0-3-2, Kumara 3-1-7-3, Hasaranga 3-0-9-3

Sri Lanka (target 45)

P. Nissanka c van Meekeren b Glover     0

K. Perera not out                      33

C. Asalanka c Klaassen b van Meekeren   6

A. Fernando not out                     2

Extras (lb1, w3)                        4

Total (2 wickets, 7.1 overs)           45

Did not bat: B. Rajapaksa, D. Shanaka, C. Karunaratne, W. Hasaranga, D. Chameera, M. Theekshana, L. Kumara 

Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Nissanka), 2-31 (Asalanka)

Bowling: Klaassen 2.1-0-12-0, Glover 3-0-12-1 (w2), Van Meekeren 2-0-20-1 (w1)

Toss: Sri Lanka

Result: Sri Lanka beat Netherlands by 8 wickets