Bangladesh beat Afghanistan by four wickets in first ODI

Published: 07:37 PM, 23 Feb, 2022
Bangladesh beat Afghanistan by four wickets in first ODI
Caption: Bangladesh's Mehidy Hasan Miraz (L) with teammate Afif Hossain celebrate their win at the end of play during the first one-day international (ODI) cricket match between Afghanistan and Bangladesh at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Bangladesh recovered from an early collapse to defeat Afghanistan by four wickets in the first one-day international of a three-match series at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Wednesday.

Afif Hossain (93 off 115 balls) and Mehidy Hasan (81 off 120) shared a record 174-run seventh-wicket stand as Bangladesh recovered from 45-6 to reach 219-6 in 48.5 overs.

Earlier Mustafizur Rahman's 3-35 helped the hosts bowl out Afghanistan for 215 in 49.1 overs.

Bangladesh vs Afghanistan first ODI scoreboard

Afghanistan innings

Rahmanullah Gurbaz c Tamim b Mustafizur 7

Ibrahim Zadran c Yasir b Shoriful 19

Rahmat Shah c Mushfiqur b Taskin 34

Hashmatullah Shahidi c Mushfiqur b Mahmudullah 28

Najibullah Zadran c Mahmudullah b Shoriful 67

Mohammad Nabi c Mushfiqur b Taskin 20

Gulbadin Naib lbw b Shakib 17

Rashid Khan b Shakib 0

Mujeeb Ur Rahman c sub b Mustafizur 0

Yamin Ahmadzai c Mahmudullah b Mustafizur 5

Fazalhaq Farooqi not out 0

Extras (lb 5, w13) 18

Total (all out; 49.1 overs) 215

Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Gurbaz), 2-56 (Ibrahim), 3-79 (Rahmat), 4-102 (Hashmatullah), 5-165 (Nabi), 6-194 (Gulbadin), 7-194 (Rashid), 8-195 (Mujeeb), 9-214 (Zadran), 10-215 (Ahmadzai)

Bowling: Mustafizur 9.1-0-35-3 (w3), Taskin 10-0-55-2 (w6), Shakib 9-1-50-2 (w3), Shoriful 10-1-38-2 (w1), Mehidy 10-3-28-0. Mahmudullah 1-0-4-1

Bangladesh innings

Tamim Iqbal lbw b Farooqi 8

Liton Das c Gurbaz b Farooqi 1

Shakib Al Hasan b Mujeeb 10

Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Farooqi 3

Yasir Ali b Farooqi 0

Mahmudullah c Gulbadin b Rashid 8

Afif Hossain not out 93

Mehidy Hasan not out 81

Extras (lb 11, w4) 15

Total ( six wickets; 48.5 overs) 219

Did not bat: Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Liton), 2-14 (Tamim), 3-18 (Mushfiqur), 4-18 (Yasir), 5-28 (Shakib), 6-45 (Mahmudullah)

Bowling: Farooqi 10-1-54-4 (w2), Mujeeb 10-0-32-1, Yamin 5-0-35-0 (w1), Rashid 10-1-30-1, Nabi 10-1-32-0, Gulbadin 3.5-0-25-0 (w1)

Result: Bangladesh won by four wickets


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.