Mohammad Rizwan declared ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year

By: News Desk
Published: 01:00 PM, 23 Jan, 2022
Mohammad Rizwan declared ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year
Caption: Mohammad Rizwan.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has declared Pakistani ace batsman and wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan as ICC’s Cricketer of the Year in Men’s T20I field for the year 2021, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

Announcing its decision, the ICC in a tweet on Sunday listed its qualifications for naming Mohamamd Rizwan as its Cricketer of the Year which were sheer consistency, indomitable spirit and some breath-taking knocks.

The ICC also declared that the year 2021 was a memorable one for the Pakistani star.

Rizwan defeated Jos Buttler, Wanindu Hasaranga and Mitchell Marsh to win the ICC’s prestigious award.

In a tweet, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) also congratulated Mohammad Rizwan on winning the ICC award.

Sheer Consistency, indomitable spirit and some breathtaking knocks — the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year enjoyed a memorable run in 2021. Here, we take a look at his performances and some outstanding achievements through the course of the year.

Mohammad Rizwan – Pakistan 

1326 runs in 29 matches at an average of 73.66 with one century; 24 dismissals.

ICC Men's T20I Player of the Year 2021: Mohammad Rizwan

The year that was

The Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter ruled the roost in 2021 when it came to the shortest format of the game. Aggregating a staggering 1326 runs in only 29 matches, Rizwan struck at an average of 73.66 and a strike-rate of 134.89. Apart from his exploits with the bat, he was as solid as ever behind the stumps, playing a key role in Pakistan's run to the semis during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, where he ended up as the third-highest run-scorer. 

He also scored the maiden T20I century of his career against South Africa in Lahore early in the year and ended it continuing his form with a brilliant knock of 87 against West Indies in Karachi. With another T20 World Cup coming up next year, Pakistan will hope that Rizwan continues in the same vein. 

Memorable Performance

Though a chase of 152 looked easy on paper, Pakistan had the weight of history against them in the T20 World Cup encounter against India. With the likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami in opposition attack, the task was made all the more complicated. But as was almost always the case in 2021, Rizwan along with his skipper Babar Azam ensured that a famous victory would be sealed that would be celebrated in the history of Pakistan cricket for years to come. 

Rizwan smacked 79* in only 55 deliveries, hitting six fours and three sixes. The ease with which he countered the Indian bowling attack was a thing of sheer beauty. He ensured that there were no hiccups in the run-chase as Pakistan galloped towards the target without losing a single wicket to seal a 10-wicket victory. 

Earlier, Pakistan's Shaheen Shah Afridi and Mohammad Rizwan were nominated for Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. The ICC had announced that the 2021 edition of the ICC Awards, celebrating and rewarding the top performances across men’s and women’s international cricket throughout the year will be unveiled on all of ICC’s channels and platforms this week.

The individual awards for excellence in women’s and men’s international cricket will be revealed on the ICC channels on January 23 and 24.

This year’s awards will comprise a total of 13 individual awards.

Players that have had the most impactful performances in the period under consideration — January 1 to December 31 were nominated for these awards.The ICC Voting Academy, comprising a wider selection of global cricket journalists and broadcasters, had voted for their first, second and third choices, while an overwhelming 1.2 million global cricket fans also submitted their votes to choose their favourite cricketers of the year.

The result of the ICC Voting Academy selections and the fans’ vote will be combined to determine the winner in each of these categories.

The Emerging and Associate categories listed above did not feature shortlists and were determined solely by the ICC Voting Academy.

List of awards and nominees:

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Shaheen Afridi, Joe Root, Mohammad Rizwan, Kane Williamson.

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Tammy Beaumont, Lizelle Lee, Smriti Mandhana, Gaby Lewis.

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Joe Root, Kyle Jamieson, Dimuth Karunaratne, Ravichandran Ashwin.

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Shakib Al Hasan, Babar Azam, Janneman Malan, Paul Stirling.

ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Tammy Beaumont, Lizelle Lee, Hayley Matthews, Fatima Sana.

ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Jos Buttler, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mitchell Marsh, Mohammad Rizwan.

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Tammy Beaumont, Gaby Lewis, Smriti Mandhana, Nat Sciver.