By-elections: Final list of candidates with party symbols issued

By: News Desk
Published: 07:13 PM, 24 Jun, 2022
By-elections: Final list of candidates with party symbols issued
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

For the By-Elections in four constituencies of Lahore, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) issued the final list of candidates and their party symbols on Friday.

According to the 24News HD TV channel, a total of 42 candidates of different parties and independents are participating in the by-elections of all four constituencies of Lahore.

The ECP has allotted the symbol of Tiger to the ruling Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz and Bat to the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Crane to the Tehreek Labbaik Pakistan (TLP), Lantern to the Awami National Party (ANP), Scale to the Jamaat-e-Islami Pakistan (JIP, Sunflower to the Tehrik Jawanan Pakistan (TJP), and Railway Engine to the Pakistan Nazriyati Party (PNP).

By-elections are going to be held on four seats of the Punjab Assembly from Lahore including PP-158, PP-167, PP-168, and PP-170.


There is a total of 14 candidates in the field in constituency PP-158. Rana Ahsan Sharafat from PML-N, Mian Muhammad Akram from PTI, Muhammad Bilal from TLP, Muhammad Zahid Khan from ANP, Umair Awan from JIP, and Jameel-ur-Rehman from PNP are contesting elections on the party tickets.

While some independent candidates are also contesting elections under different symbols including Awais Younis (Lock), Farrukh Javed (Medal), Muhammad Ahmad Javed (Laptop), Muhammad Nawaz (Television), Mian Muhammad Amjad Iqbal (Jag), and Mian Haroon Akram (Waistcoat).


There are 11 candidates in PP 167 including PML-N candidate Nazir Ahmed Chauhan, PTI Chaudhry Shabbir Gujjar, TLP Hasnain Ahmed Shehzad, JIP Khalid Mahmood, TJP Tahmasp Kiyani.

There are also some independent candidates including Azhar Mashwani is contesting the election on the symbol of Radio, Atif Chaudhry on Bull, Syed Adnan on Gul Lala (a flower), Usman Ali on Laptop, Asif Jutt on Basket, and Muhammad Sajid Khan on Table.


There are a total of 9 candidates in PP 168 including Amjad Hussain Abbasi from TLP, Malik Nawaz Awan from PTI, Usman Ghani from JIP, and Malik Asad Ali Khokhar from PML-N.

Among the independent candidates, Faiz Khan is contesting elections on the symbol of Oil Tanker, Muhammad Waseem Niaz on Bull, Muhammad Waqas on Basket, Rana Ghazanfar Ali on TV and Rana Tanveer on Picture.


There are a total of 8 candidates in PP 170 including the PML-N candidate Chaudhry Amin, PTI candidate Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokhar, TLP candidate Jamil Ahmed, and JIP candidate Waqas Butt.

Some independent candidates including Naeem Abbas Malik on the symbol of Goat, Mian Muhammad Naeem on Bridge, Muhammad Amin on Bull, and Zaheer Abbas on Knife are contesting the by-elections in the Lahore constituency.

Reporter: Rao Dilshad