Bangladesh crush Sri Lanka in 2nd ODI to clinch series

By: AFP      Published: 09:55 PM, 25 May, 2021
Bangladesh crush Sri Lanka in 2nd ODI to clinch series

Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman claimed three wickets each as Bangladesh thrashed Sri Lanka by 103 runs in a rain-hit second one-day international to clinch the series on Tuesday.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim hit 125 to steer Bangladesh, who recorded their first series win over Sri Lanka across formats, to 246 all out in 48.1 overs after they elected to bat in Dhaka.

Sri Lanka managed just 141-9 in the tourists' revised chase of 245 in 40 overs as Bangladesh took an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Shakib Al Hasan also took two wickets in a match that was interrupted three times by rain.

The third ODI is on Friday at the same venue.

Bangladesh v Sri Lanka second ODI scoreboard

Scoreboard of the second one-day international between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Tuesday:


Tamim Iqbal lbw b Chameera                   13

Liton Das c Hasaranga b Sandakan             25

Shakib Al Hasan lbw b Chameera                0

Mushfiqur Rahim c Ashen Bandara b Chameera  125

Mosaddek Hossain c Perera b Sandakan         10

Mahmudullah Riyad c Perera b Sandakan        41

Afif Hossain c Nissanka b Udana              10

Mehidy Hasan b Hasaranga                      0

Mohammad Saifuddin run out                   11

Shoriful Islam c Perera b Udana               0

Mustafizur Rahman not out                     0

Extras (b1, lb4, w3, nb3)                    11

Total (all out; 48.1 overs)                 246

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Tamim), 2-15 (Shakib), 3-49 (Liton Das), 4-74 (Mosaddek), 5-161 (Mahmudullah), 6-178 (Afif), 7-184 (Mehidy), 8-232 (Saifuddin), 9-246 (Shoriful), 10-246 (Mushfiqur)

Bowling: Udana 9-0-49-2 (w2, nb1), Chameera 9.1-2-44-3 (w1), Hasaranga 10-1-33-1, Shanaka 7-0-38-0, Sandakan 10-0-54-3 (nb2), de Silva 3-0-23-0

Sri Lanka (D/L revised target 245 in 40 overs)

Danushka Gunathilaka c Shakib b Mustafizur  24

Kusal Perera c Tamim b Shoriful             14

Pathum Nissanka c Tamim b Shakib            20

Kusal Mendis lbw b Mehidy                   15

Dhananjaya de Silva lbw b Shakib            10

Ashen Bandara c Mahmudullah b Mustafizur    15

Dasun Shanaka c Mahmudullah b Mehidy        11

Wanindu Hasaranga b Mehidy                   6

Isuru Udana not out                         18

Lakshan Sandakan c Tamim b Mustafizur        4

Dushmantha Chameera not out                  4

Total (9 wickets; 40 overs)                141

Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Perera), 2-53 (Gunathilaka), 3-71 (Nissanka), 4-77 (Mendis), 5-89 (de Silva), 6-104 (Shanaka) 7-114 (Hasaranga), 8-116 (Bandara), 9-122 (Sandakan)

Bowling: Mehidy Hasan 10-0-28-3, Shoriful 6-0-30-1, Taskin 8-0-27-0, Mustafizur 6-1-16-3, Shakib 9-0-38-2, Mosaddek 1-0-2-0