IHC pinpoints time lapse in appeals filed against Imran in Parliament attack case

By: News Desk
Published: 03:01 PM, 25 Oct, 2022
IHC pinpoints time lapse in appeals filed against Imran in Parliament attack case
Caption: File photo.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Islamabad High Court has adjourned petitions filed by the Federation challenging the acquittal of former prime minister and PTI Chairman Imran Khan and former defence minister Pervaiz Khattak in the Parliament House attack case till Jan 9 saying the appeals have been filed after a lapse of time, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

IHC Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kiyani and Justice Tariq Mehmood Jehangiri on Tuesday heard the Federation’s petitions challenging the exoneration of PTI Chief Imran Khan and Pervaiz Khattak in the 2014 Parliament attack case.

During the hearing, Justice Kiyani remarked that these appeals were submitted after the lapse of time observing that the appeals were filed after the change of the government. 

Justice Mehmood expressed his exasperation saying it’s strange that the advocate general did not know that the appeals were filed after a lapse of two years. 

The state counsel, however, said that he laid his hands on the file only yesterday requesting the court to give him time to study it. He said the prosecutor had not informed about the court decision on time.  

Justice Kiyani wondered if it was a reason enough to file the appeals after the lapse of time. 

On Aug 31, 2014, the PTI and PAT workers during their anti-government protests had marched towards the Parliament House and Prime Minister House and clashed with police deployed on Constitution Avenue. A case was registered against Imran Khan and other PTI and PAT leaders including Tahirul Qadri, Pervaiz Khattak, Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Shafqat Mehmood, Asad Umar and others. 

However, an anti-terrorism court in Islamabad in Oct 2020 acquitted then prime minister Imran Khan in the 2014 Parliament House attack. 

Reporter Ehtisham Kiyani

Categories : Pakistan