High-flying Pakistan restrict New Zealand to 134-8

By: AFP      Published: 06:53 PM, 26 Oct, 2021
T20 world cup
New Zealand's Martin Guptill (L) reacts after being bowled out by Pakistan's Haris Rauf (C) during the ICC men’s Twenty20 World Cup cricket match between Pakistan and New Zealand at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Pakistan produced another disciplined bowling display to limit New Zealand to 134-8 in their Twenty20 World Cup clash in Sharjah on Tuesday.

Boosted after their brilliant performance in the 10-wicket win over arch-rivals India on Sunday, Pakistan were this time led by fast bowler Haris Rauf who finished with 4-22.

Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell were joint top-scorers with 27 each while skipper Kane Williamson made a laborious 26-ball 25.

Pakistan applied the pressure right from the start as left-arm paceman Shaheen Shah Afridi, whose three wickets against India earned him player of the match, bowled a maiden first over.

New Zealand reached 36 without loss when Rauf bowled Martin Guptill off his pads for 17. He also accounted for Conway and Glenn Phillips (13) in one over as New Zealand failed to lift the tempo at any stage.

Rauf also dismissed Mitchell Santner (six) with the last ball of the final over.

Shaheen finished with 1-21 while spinners Mohammad Hafeez and Imad Wasim also took a wicket each.

Pakistan kept the same team that won against India.

New Zealand -- playing their first game in the Super 12s -- were jolted before the start of the match when fast bowler Lockie Ferguson was ruled out of the tournament with a calf injury.

Pakistan captain Babar Azam won the toss and sent New Zealand into bat in the Twenty20 World Cup Super 12 match in Sharjah on Tuesday.

Pakistan, champions in 2009, kept the same team that beat arch-rivals India by 10 wickets in Dubai on Sunday.

New Zealand, playing their first game in the tournament, were jolted by a calf injury to spearhead Lockie Ferguson minutes before the match.

Ferguson is ruled out of the World Cup and his replacement Adam Milne can only be selected once approval is granted by the International Cricket Council technical committee.

Squads: Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi 

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Martin Guptill, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Tim Seifert, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi