Strong reaction after ICC names T20I Team of the Decade…having no Pakistani

By: News Desk      Published: 02:41 PM, 27 Dec, 2020
Strong reaction after ICC names T20I Team of the Decade…having no Pakistani

The social media was set ablaze on Sunday after there was a strong reaction over ICC naming T20I cricket team of the decade and it carried no Pakistani player.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the T20I team of the decade. Four Indians, including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, and Jasprit Bumrah have been included in the team

Here is team T20I team of the decade:

Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, AB de Devilliers, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (WK/C), Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

A twitterati showed his anger over the selection, asking where was the top T20 batsman Babar Azam.

ICC Awards

A special broadcast show revealing the winners on all ICC Digital Channels as well as the Star Sports Network is planned on Monday, 28th December at 12:30 PM GST/2 PM IST.

The winners of the prestigious ICC Awards of the Decade including the Rachel Heyhoe-Flint for Best Female Player and Sir Garfield Sobers for Best Male Player, will be announced simultaneously across all ICC Digital channels, including a live broadcast on Facebook and YouTube, as well as on the Star Sports Network, on Monday, December 28 at 12:30 PM GST/2:00 PM IST. 

The ICC Awards of the Decade show, comprised of members of the voting panel, will be hosted by Alan Wilkins, and will feature former international stars Shaun Pollock and Lisa Sthalekar, who will be joined by senior journalist Sharda Ugra and Tim Cutler, founder of Emerging Cricket, while the Star Sports show will be hosted by Jatin Sapru. 

The winners of all the individual awards will receive a unique artwork created in a collaboration between the ICC, Mumbai-based studio Kulture Shop and Indian artist Pratap Chalke. 

The Rachel Heyhoe-Flint and Sir Garfield Sobers winners get a spectacular hand-painted artwork bat, while the other individual award winners will receive a limited-edition canvas painting that captures their unique passion and spirit.

“We wanted to present the winners with truly memorable awards that captured the personality of these icons of the game. It’s been fantastic to work with Chalke and the team at Kulture Shop to bring this vision to life in such a bold, impactful way,” said Finn Bradshaw, Head of Digital at the ICC.