Sri Lanka beat India to level Covid-hit T20 series at 1-1

Published: 09:06 PM, 28 Jul, 2021
Sri Lanka beat India to level Covid-hit T20 series at 1-1
Caption: Sri Lanka's Dhananjaya de Silva (L) celebrates with his teammate Chamika Karunaratne (2nd-L) after Sri Lanka won by 4 wickets during the second international Twenty20 cricket match between Sri Lanka and India.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Dhananjaya de Silva hit 40 not out as Sri Lanka beat India by four wickets in the Covid-19 delayed second Twenty20 international to level the series at 1-1 on Wednesday.

Chasing 133 for victory, Sri Lanka depended on an unbeaten 28-run seventh-wicket partnership between De Silva and Chamika Karunaratne, who made 12, to achieve their target with two balls to spare in Colombo.

Earlier India posted 132-5 after they fielded four debutants following virus positive Krunal Pandya and eight of his close contacts forced to sit out the game, which was postponed hours before the scheduled start on Tuesday.

The third and deciding T20 is on Thursday at the same venue.

Sri Lanka v India, 2nd T20 scoreboard

Scoreboard of the second Twenty20 international between Sri Lanka and India in Colombo on Wednesday:


R. Gaikwad c Bhanuka b Shanaka          21

S. Dhawan b Dananjaya                   40

D. Padikkal b Hasaranga                 29

S. Samson b Dananjaya                    7 

N. Rana c De Silva b Chameera            9

B. Kumar not out                        13

N. Saini not out                         1

Extras (b1, w11)                        12

Total (5 wickets, 20 overs)            132

Fall of wickets: 1-49 (Gaikwad), 2-81 (Dhawan), 3-99 (Padikkal), 4-104 (Samson), 5-130 (Rana)

Did not bat: K. Yadav, R. Chahar, C. Sakariya, V. Chakravarthy

Bowling: Chameera 4-0-23-1 (w3), Karunaratne 1-0-6-0, Dananjaya 4-0-29-2 (w2), Udana 1-0-7-0, Hasaranga 4-0-30-1 (w5), Shanaka 2-0-14-1 (w1), Mendis 2-0-9-0, De Silva 2-0-13-0

Sri Lanka (target 133)

A. Fernando c Chahar b Kumar            11

M. Bhanuka c Chahar b Yadav             36

S. Samarawickrama b Chakravarthy         8

D. Shanaka st Samson b Yadav             3

D. de Silva not out                     40

W. Hasaranga c Kumar b Chahar           15

R. Mendis c Gaikwad b Sakariya           2

C. Karunaratne not out                  12

Extras (lb3, w3)                         6

Total (6 wickets, 19.4)                133

Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Fernando), 2-32 (Samarawickrama), 3-54 (Shanaka), 4-66 (Bhanuka), 5-94 (Hasaranga), 6-105 (Mendis)

Did not bat: I. Udana, D. Chameera, A. Dananjaya

Bowling: Kumar 4-0-21-1, Sakariya 3.4-0-34-1 (w2), Chakravarthy 4-0-18-1, Chahar 4-0-27-1, Yadav 4-0-30-2 (w1)

Toss: Sri Lanka

Result: Sri Lanka won by four wickets

Series: Three-match series level at 1-1


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.