NA speaker accepts 11 PTI members resignations

By: News Desk
Published: 10:32 PM, 28 Jul, 2022
NA speaker accepts 11 PTI members resignations
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Speaker National Assembly Raja Pervaiz Ashraf Thursday accepted the selected resignations of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf members of National Assembly, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

After the consultations with coalition partners, the NA speaker accepted the resignations of PTI MNAs. All the PTI MNAs have tendered their resignations after the success of the no-confidence motion against former prime minister Imran Khan.

Those whose resignations were accepted include Shireen Mazari, Ali Muhammad Khan, Fazl Muhammad Khan, Shaukat Khan, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Farrukh Habib, Ijaz Shah, Akram Cheema, Jamil Ahmad Khan, Shandana Gulzar and Abdul Shakoor Shaad.

However, the list did not include the name of PTI chairman Imran Khan and vice chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi. 

The coalition partners in PDM are seeking to jointly contest these seats and clinch victory to make their position strong in the National Assembly which is hinging on threads with a majority of just two votes.

The decision came after PDM announced the federal government will complete its term and the election would be held on time.

Also, the PDM decided to hold a meeting to take up the ongoing political situation. According to sources said all the coalition partners would participate in the two-day moot.

The alliance would ponder over the political situation to devise a strategy to cope with the current challenges.

Earlier in the day, the PDM met with its head Fazlur Rehman in the chair and adopted resolutions to get over the ‘crisis’ following the country’s top court verdict in the Punjab CM election.  

Briefing the media, Fazl said the PDM in one of its resolutions had demanded the federal government send a presidential reference to the apex court to constitute a full court for the interpretation of Article 63-A of the Constitution.

In another resolution, the alliance demanded the Election Commission of Pakistan immediately announce its verdict on the funding case of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), he added. He was flanked by PML-N VP Maryam and other PMD members.

Reporter: Usman Khan

Categories : Pakistan