Afghanistan clinches victory over Namibia by 62 runs

By: News Desk
Published: 06:59 PM, 31 Oct, 2021
Afghanistan clinches victory over Namibia by 62 runs
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Afghanistan beat Namibia Sunday comprehensively by 62 runs during the match in Group 2 for the ICC World T20 Cup.

While defending 161 runs, Afghan bowlers contained the Namibian batters at 98/9 in 20 overs, 24News HD TV Channel reported.

Afghan fast bowler Naveen ul Haq was splendid with the bowl, as the 22-years-old Afghan fast bowler took 3 wickets for 26 runs with a bowling economy rate of 6.50. The Namibian opener Craig Williams was done and dusted by Naveen ul Haq for one run. Another opener Michael van Lingen walked back to the pavilion for just 11 runs.

Naveen with his bowling skills tightened the screw for the Namibian batsmen. David Wiese (scored 26 runs), Jan Nicol Lofie-Eaton (scored 14 runs) and Skipper Gerhard Erasmus managed to score only 12 runs.

In the first Innings, Afghanistan with the help of the fifties of Hazratullah Zazai and Mohamad Shahzad, managed to post a mountain total of 160/5 against Namibia. Zazai scored 33 runs off 27 balls with 4 fours & 2 sixes while Shahzad smoked blazing 45 off 33 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes.

For Namibia, Ruben Trumpelmann and Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton picked up 2 wickets each by conceding 34 and 21 runs respectively, while JJ Smit, grabbed 1 wicket each. 

With the victory, Afghanistan has gained two more points. It now stands behind Pakistan on the second number on the points table with 4 points in Group 2.

Former Afghan skipper, Asghar Afghan played his last match for his country as he announced his retirement from all of the formats of the game on Saturday. On his last dismissal, he scored rapid 31 runs. Moreover, Asghar received a “Guard of Honour” from Namibian players.

Earlier, Afghanistan captain Mohammad Nabi won the toss and opted to bat first against Namibia in the 27th match of T20 World Cup 2021. This match is being played in Abu Dhabi. The officials for the match was Ahsan Raza (Field umpire), Chris Gaffaney (Field umpire), Paul Reiffel (Tv umpire), Richard Illingworth (Reserve umpire) and Javagal Srinath (Match referee).