197 MNAs vote against PM Imran Khan in ‘no-trust voting’

By: News Desk
Published: 04:10 PM, 3 Apr, 2022
197 MNAs vote against PM Imran Khan in ‘no-trust voting’
Caption: TV grab.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Like a shadow government, the opposition on Sunday continued to occupy the National Assembly hall and held voting on its erstwhile dismissed no-confidence motion by the assembly chair through his ruling which the opposition claimed unconstitutional, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

In this symbolic exercise of the assembly proceedings, former NA Speaker Ayaz Sadiq presided over the assembly session. All opposition leaders were present in the house. Though the house was officially prorogued by Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri and all lights and mics were turned off.

However, the Opposition MPs baffled by the government move stayed put and continued with their ‘aborted’ voting on the no-confidence motion.

Opposition leader Shehbaz Sharif laid the no-trust motion before the house. Then the voting was held and 197 MNAs cast their votes in favour of the move. 

On this occasion, Shehbaz said that an action under Article 6 would be taken against the Speaker. 

The symbolic house proceedings decided to hold voting on no-trust motion against Speaker Asad Qaiser on April 6 so the assembly was adjourned till April 6. 

Reporter Usman Khan