Zaman powers Qalandars to victory

By: News Desk
Published: 02:21 PM, 5 Feb, 2022
Zaman powers Qalandars to victory
Caption: Lahore Qalandars' Haris Rauf (C) celebrates after taking the wicket of Islamabad United's Paul Stirling (not pictured) during the Pakistan Super League (PSL) Twenty20 cricket match between Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars at the National Cricket Stadium in Karachi.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Zaman Khan held his nerves to snatch victory from Islamabad United jaws in the final over by getting rid of slogger Asif Ali, as Lahore Qalandars got better of United in the 12th match of the seventh season of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at Karachi’s National Stadium ground Saturday.

The fine knocks by Colin Munro and Shadab Khan went in vain for Islamabad United.

Chasing 175 to win, Munro scored 60 off 45 deliveries. Munro with skipper Shadab (52) added 100 runs for the third-wicket stand after United made a shaky start after losing two wickets in quick succession for 37 runs. Munro clobbered three 6s and five 4s while facing 50 balls. Shahdab cracked four 6s and two boundaries in his 32-ball knock.

For Qalandars, Haris Rauf remained the stand out bowler who took two wickets, conceding 41 runs. Skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi, Rashid Khan  and Zaman bagged a wicket apiece.

On the other hand, four wickets by pacer Waqas Maqsood contained Qalandars on 174 in 20 overs.

Abdullah Shafique played a fine knock of 44. He struck one six and six fours off 24 balls. Fakhar Zaman (38) was the second top scorer. While Harry Brook contributed 37 runs for Qalandars.

Earlier, Islamabad captain Shadab Khan won the toss and opted to field first against Lahore Qalandars.

Islamabad United were unchanged and on the other hand Lahore Qalandars made two changes, Phil Salt and Harry Brook came in place of Zeeshan Ashraf and Dean Foxcroft.

Peshawar Zalmi to take on the Multan Sultans in the 13th match of the seventh edition of Pakistan Super League in Karachi’s National Stadium at 7:30 pm.

It would be a crisp of a battle between the two sides. As Multan Sultans of Mohammad Rizwan is invincible in the tournament with four successive victories in a row.

Zalmi, on the other hand, have won two matches, and faced defeat in two matches.

The key to success for the Multan Sultans would be skipper and wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Sohaib Maqsood and leg-spin wizard Imran Tahir.

While, Shoaib Malik, Hazratullah Zazai and Wahab Riaz would be the trump card for Zalmi.

Yesterday, Peshawar Zalmi handed another defeat to Karachi Kings as Babar Azam XI was defeated by men in yellow in the 11th match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 being played at the National Stadium, Karachi.

Chasing a target of 174-run, Babar Azam’s side could manage 164-6 in 20 overs. Only the notable innings for Kings was of Babar who remained undefeated for his 90 runs off 63 balls that also included a six and 12 boundaries. However, he could not get any substantial support from the other end as the wickets continued to fall and the asking run-rate continued to rise to leave it 29 runs needed in the last over. However, Karachi could get only 20 off last over.