7 Punjab cities under 14-day smart lockdown

By: News Desk      Published: 12:56 AM, 10 Jul, 2020
7 Punjab cities under 14-day smart lockdown

The Punjab government has enforced a 14-day smart lockdown in parts of seven cities across the province as part of steps to stem the spread of Covid-19.

Primary and Secondary Healthcare Secretary Muhammad Usman issued the notification on Thursday stating that the lockdown would be enforced after 12am and remain enforced until July 24.

Parts of Lahore, Multan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Sialkot, Gujrat, and Rawalpindi are experiencing the lockdown, the secretary said, adding that during smart lockdown, basic utility stuff would be available. He added steps are being taken as part of protective measures against the deadly coronavirus.

Lahore areas where smart lockdown is put in place include Township, EME Society, Punjab Government Servant Housing Scheme, Johar Town, Wapda Town and bazaars adjacent to Chungi Amer Sidhu.

Faisalabad areas are Warispura Chowk, D-Type Colony, Mandi Quarter Alama Iqbal Colony, Raza Abad, Raza Garden while Gujranwala’s Wapda Town and Peoples Colony and Multan’s Sui Northern Colony, Peeran Ghaib Road , Hoor Banaspati, SNGP Mills, Customs Office and Colony Kalma Chowk are put under the smart lockdown.

Sialkot areas include Tauseef Market, Al-Yousaf Plaza Muzafarpura, Qayyum Street, Muzafarpura of Daska while Rawalpindi are Dhoki Khaba, Gulistan Colony, Range Road Area and Lane 4 PI Colony.