Cricket: T20 World Cup qualifying results

Published: 09:15 PM, 11 Jul, 2022
Cricket: T20 World Cup qualifying results
Caption: Australia's T20 cricket captain Aaron Finch (L) chats with former international players Waqar Younis (2nd L), Shane Watson (2nd R) and Morne Morkel (R) at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 100 days-to-go ceremony in Melbourne.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Twenty20 World Cup qualifying tournament first series results at Queens Sports Club and Bulawayo Athletic Club in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, on Monday:

Group A

At Queen's

Zimbabwe 236-5 in 20 overs (Sikandar Raza 87, Sean Williams 53, Craig Ervine 34)

Singapore 125-7 in 20 overs (Janak Prakash 32 not out, Aryaman Sunil 25, Surendran Chandramohan 21; Tendai Chatara 3-14, Blessing Muzarabani 2-21) 

Toss: Singapore

Result: Zimbabwe won by 111 runs

Jersey 154-5 in 20 overs (Asa Tribe 73 not out, Benjamin Ward 38; Nisarg Patel 2-26, Rusty Theron 2-28)

United States 159-2 in 18.1 overs (Steven Taylor 101 not out, Aaron Jones 38; Dominic Blampied 2-20)

Toss: USA

Result: USA won by eight wickets

Group B


Netherlands  163-7 in 20 overs (Stephan Myburgh 39, Bas de Leede 33, Max O'Dowd 32; Semo Kamea 2-25, Charles Amini 2-28)

Papua New Guinea 111 in 19.4 overs (Sese Bau 35, Amini 21; Logan van Beek 3-17, De Leede 2-13, Fred Klaassen 2-18, Paul van Meekeren 2-22)

Toss: Netherlands

Result: Netherlands won by 52 runs

Hong Kong 87-9 in 20 overs (Kinchit Shah 37; Dinesh Nakrani 4-12, Cosmas Kyewuta 2-21)

Uganda 88-8 in 19.3 overs (Riazat Ali Shah 28 not out; Aizaz Khan 3-22, Mohammad Ghazanfar 2-12)

Toss: Hong Kong

Result: Uganda won by two wickets 

Playing Tuesday (times GMT)

Gp A: Zimbabwe v Jersey, Singapore v USA (both 0700)

Gp B: Netherlands v Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea v Uganda (both 1100)

Note: Group winners and runners-up qualify for semi-finals; finalists progress to 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia from Oct 16-Nov 13


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.