ECP rejects disqualification reference against PTI’s dissident MNAs

By: News Desk
Published: 04:23 PM, 11 May, 2022
ECP rejects disqualification reference against PTI’s dissident MNAs
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday rejected the disqualification reference against the MNAs of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) involved in floor crossing during the no-confidence motion against their party’s Prime Minister Imran Khan.

According to the 24News HD TV channel, the ECP has said in its verdict that the reference against 20 MNAs of the PTI has not been proved.

Raja Riaz, Noor Alam Khan, Ahmed Hussain Dhar, Nawab Sher Waseer, Ramesh Kumar, Riaz Mazari, Basit Bukhari, Rana Qasim, Basit Sultan Raja, Khawaja Sheraz, Ghaffar Wattoo, Nuzhat Pathan, Wajiha Akram, and others are included in the dissidents of the PTI.

Earlier today, the ECP reserved the verdict on a reference against the dissident Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) lawmakers for their disqualification.

During the hearing, the ECP also rejected the PTI's request for submitting more records. However, the PTI lawyer has vowed to challenge the ECP decision.

A three-member bench headed by the Chief Election Commission Sikandar Sultan Raja heard the case while Faisal Chaudhry advocate pleaded the case from the PTI as its lawyer.

The PTI’s dissident MNAs have filed their replies in the commission and termed commonly the references against them vague, unsubstantiated and baseless in the material.

These members have also explained to the commission that they did not resign from the PTI and joined any other party. They also claimed that they had not violated the PTI’s policy.