MPs panel on ECP appointment rejects two names

By: News Desk
Published: 05:13 PM, 15 Nov, 2021
ECP Pakistan-FILE
Caption: ECP Pakistan-FILE
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The in-camera session of the parliamentary committee held to appoint two members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has rejected the two names suggested by Prime Minister Imran Khan and Opposition leader Shehbaz Sharif, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

The parliamentary committee rejected the name of Farid Ullah suggested by Prime Minister Khan on the grounds of his being overaged.

The committee also vetoed the name of Irfan Qadir recommended by Opposition leader Shehbaz.

The committee will deliberate on other names tossed by the premier and the opposition leader.

The next meeting of the committee will be held on next Wednesday.

According to Shahid Akhtar Ali, the opposition still has objection over the inclusion of Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry and Railways Minister Azam Swati in the parliamentary committee.

It is pertinent to mention here that the Punjab and KP members of the ECP after completing their tenures had retired on July 25, 2021.

From Punjab, Prime Minister Imran Khan suggested names of Ahsan Mehboob, Advocate Raja Amir Khan and Dr Syed Pervaiz Abbas.

From KP, the premier floated the names of Justice ® Ikram Ullah Khan, Farid Ullah and Muzammil Khan.

Opposition leader in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif suggested six names from Punjab. He recommended the names of Justice ® Tariq Iftikhar, Justice ®Mushtaq Ahmad, Khalid Masood Chaudhry, Irfan Qadir, Muhammad Javed Anwar and Irfan Ali.

From KP, Shehbaz suggested names of Syed Afsar Shah, Safdar Hussain Shah and Suhail Altaf.

Reporter Usman Khan