Top FBR members reshuffled

By: INP      Published: 01:52 AM, 19 Jul, 2020
Top FBR members reshuffled

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) reshuffled top members of the tax machinery, as the government looks to revive the stalled International Monetary Fund's (IMF) $6 billion Extended Fund Facility (EFF) programme.

Member IR Policy Dr Hamid Ateeq Sarwar and second Special Assistant to Chairman Malik Amjad Zubair Tiwana, two important officials, were reshuffled.

Members Inland Revenue Policy, Member Administration, Member Facilitation and Taxpayer Education (FATE), Member Human Resource Management (HRM) and Member Strategic, Planning, Reforms and Statistics were changed by the government as well.

Another important development, since the government brought in the Bureau's chairman Javed Ghani as a stop-gap arrangement, is appointing FBR’s Member Inland Revenue (IR) Policy Dr Hamid Ateeq Sarwar as Member Strategic Planning, Reforms and Statistics (SPR&S).

However, Dr Hamid Ateeq Sarwar may prefer to get any appointment outside the FBR fold. The post of FBR’s Member IR Policy is considered one of the key positions for finalising IMF modalities on behalf of the FBR.

Ch Mohammad Tarique BS-21 officer has been appointed the Member IR Policy after he was transferred from the post of Chief Commissioner IR Regional Tax Office Sialkot. Earlier, during the tenure of former Chairman FBR Shabbar Zaidi, Ch Mohammad Tarique was transferred from RTO Faisalabad during the last financial year.