PPP’s Ameer Jillani sweeps Tharparkar NA-221 by-polls

By: News Desk      Published: 11:31 AM, 22 Feb, 2021
PPP’s Ameer Jillani sweeps Tharparkar NA-221 by-polls

The Pakistan People’s Party Pir Ameer Ali Shah Jillani won the Tharparkar Chachro Nagar NA-221 by-election with 102,223 votes, according to the official results, reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Monday.

PTI candidate Nizamuddin Rahimoon came in second.

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari congratulated the PPP candidate from NA-221 and said conscious people of Tharparkar have shown a mirror to ‘illegitimate’ and ‘incompetent’ rulers in by-elections.

Sindh Education Minister Saeed Ghani said, “The PPP won the National Assembly seat NA 221 in 2018 with about 78,000 votes and a lead of 7,000 votes. Today, the PPP has won with more than 95,000 votes in the by-elections and the lead is more than 50,000. The funeral of PTI change is taking place from every province of the country.”

The seat fell vacant after PPP leader Pir Noor Muhammad Shah Jillani passed away battling coronavirus at a local hospital in Karachi. The winning candidate is the son of late Pir Noor Muhammad Shah Jillani.

Pir Ameer Ali Shah Jillani thanked the people of Tharparkar after winning the contest.

A polling station was set on fire during the voting for NA-221 by-election on Sunday. The miscreants set ablaze the polling station in Karor Kaisaar Saman reducing the ballot papers and boxes to ashes after which the law-enforcing personnel arrested PTI leader Amanullah Samon along with his supporters.

Polling for the National Assembly seat began at 8am and continued until 5pm. A total of 4,000 police officers and security personnel were stationed at 318 polling stations across the district.