PTI wins Sialkot by-election

By: 24 News
Published: 09:22 PM, 28 Jul, 2021
PTI wins Sialkot by-election
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

After a close contest in Sialkot PP-38 by-polls, ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ahsan Saleem Baryar unofficially won with a margin of 7,117 votes on Wednesday.

According to 24NewsHD TV channel, the PTI candidate bagged total 60,588 votes against Tariq Subhani of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz who received 53,471 votes in the by-elections.

PTI workers started celebrations at their election campaign offices across the constituency and distributed sweets to the supporters and other citizens.

The PTI candidate retained his lead over the PML-N candidate almost in all 165 polling stations in the constituency. 

In the polling station-18 Aakiwali, PTI candidate Ashan Saleem Baryar bagged 295 votes against PML-N’s Tariq Subhani who received 198 votes only.

In the polling station-87 Badianwali, PML-N bagged 303 votes against PTI’s 370 votes only.

In the polling station-144 Tejur Tarokanah, PTI received 289 votes and PML-N got 137 votes only.

In the polling station of Government Girls Primary School Jajjay Ram Das, PTI obtained 339 votes and PML-N got 220 votes.

In the polling station of the Charand area, PML-N bagged 957 votes and PTI’s received 262 votes only.

In the polling station-142 Dalowali, PTI received 382 votes and PML-N got 278 votes only.

Earlier, the polling time was concluded at 5 pm and the count of votes has begun in the provincial constituency of Sialkot PP-38 by-elections.

As per the ECP schedule, the polling was stopped in the constituency at sharp 5 pm after continuing in a smooth and peaceful atmosphere all day.

Soon after ending the polling time, the presiding officers of all the polling stations in PP-38 shut the doors and started the votes counting process in the presence of the candidates’ agents to maintain transparency in the by-polls.

During the polling time, the constituency received heavy rain but the election process remained continued and it was also observed that the voters cast their votes with a good ratio.

Reporters: Rana Shehzad, Mian Ishfaq, Zahid Rana