Govt, Opp agree to nominate one ECP member each

By: News Desk
Published: 09:40 PM, 29 Nov, 2021
Govt, Opp agree to nominate one ECP member each
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The government and the opposition have agreed to nominate one Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) member each, reported 24NewsHD TV on Monday.

The in-camera meeting of a parliamentary committee for the appointment of ECP members was held under the chair of Shireen Mazari and considered the appointment of members of Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

The government had nominated Raja Amir from Punjab and Justice (Retired) Ikramullah from KP.

Meanwhile, the opposition had nominated Justice (Retired) Tariq Iftikhar from Punjab and Sohail Altaf from KP.

Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry, Shahida Akhtar Ali, Senator Taj Haider, Additional Secretary Legislation Muhammad Mushtaq, Federal Minister Asad Umar and Senator Manzoor Kakar attended the meeting.

Federal Minister Pervez Khattak, Raja Pervez Ashraf, and Azam Nazir Tarar have joined the meeting from a video link.

During the meeting, PML-N sought membership from Punjab, sources said, adding that the government insisted on nominating members from Punjab.

Reporter: Usman Khan