PML-N expels five MPAs, issues show-cause notices to 'missing' senators

By: News Desk      Published: 02:10 PM, 1 Oct, 2020
PML-N expels five MPAs, issues show-cause notices to 'missing' senators
File photo.

Amid the tough stance taken by PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif, the party on Thursday decided to expel the five rebel Punjab Assembly members who had held meetings with Chief Minister Usman Buzdar despite repeated warnings, reported 24NewsHD TV channels.

On the other hand, the PML-N also issued notices to the four senators who remained absent during the voting on legislation related to the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) in the Parliament’s joint session.

The decision about expelling the rebel lawmakers was announced by PML-N Secretary-General Ahsan Iqbal after the approval by leadership. In this connection, the document was signed by Rana Sanaullah in his capacity as the provincial president.

Ashraf Ansari, Mian Jaleel Ahmed Sharaqpuri, Faisal Niazi, Nishat Daha and Maulvi Ghayasuddin are the MPAs expelled from the PML-N over violating party discipline.

Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in the Senate Raja Zafar-ul-Haq issued show-cause notices to Raheela Magsi, Kulsoom Parveen, Shamim Afridi and Dilawar Khan.

In this regard, Ahsan said the decision about the next phase would be taken after replies to the show-cause notices were submitted.

There has been persistent demand from the party supporters and workers for action against the rebel MPAs and the missing parliament who opted to remain absent from the joint session, enabling the government to get the bills sailed through the Parliament.