PTI grabs all three special seats in AJK Legislative Assembly

By: 24 News      Published: 03:27 PM, 2 Aug, 2021
PTI grabs all three special seats in AJK Legislative Assembly

The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf has also won all three special seats in the Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

The elections on the three special seats for Ulema, Overseas Kashmiris and Technocrats were held on Monday. The PTI which has already attained a comfortable majority with 26 seats in the AJK Assembly has also grabbed three special seats

PTI’s Muhammad Mazhar Saeed won the special seat of Ulema Mushaikh. Pakistan Muslim League’s (Nawaz) candidate Sahibzada Salim Chishti got 13 votes while another candidate Fazal Rasool received just 1 vote. 

According to the result for the election of the technocrat seat, PTI ‘s Muhammad Rafiq Nayyar remained successful as he got 27 votes. His rival Zulfiqar Ali grabbed 14 votes. 

For the election of the Overseas Kashmiris seat, again PTI’s Muhammad Iqbal clinched the seat by obtaining the highest votes. 

On Sunday, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf succeeded to get three reserved seats, and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) received one seat for each.

There were a total of five reserved seats for women in the AJK Legislative Assembly (LA) and the PPP supported PML-N to get a seat by giving It's two spare votes.

Imtiaz Naseem, Sabiha Siddique, and Taqdees Gilani were elected on the reserved seats from their party—the PTI while Nabila Ayub and Nisar Abbasi were selected from the PPP and the PML-N, respectively.

 Reporter Safeer Raza