PTI’s Haq, Gujjar elected AJK Speaker, Deputy Speaker respectively

By: 24 News
Published: 04:37 PM, 3 Aug, 2021
PTI’s Haq, Gujjar elected AJK Speaker, Deputy Speaker respectively
Caption: File photo
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf candidates Chaudhry Anwaar-ul-Haq and Chaudhary Riaz Gujjar on Tuesday were elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) Legislative Assembly respectively, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

PTI’s Haq bagged 32 votes while his rival could get 15 votes. He easily won the election for the speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly by defeating a consensus candidate of the opposition, Faisal Mumtaz Rathor, who could retain 15 votes. 

A total of 49 members of the AJK assembly took part in the voting for the election of the speaker

The newly-elected Speaker Haq took an oath to his office and the outgoing speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir administered the oath. 

Moreover, PTI candidate Chaudhry Riaz Gujjar was elected as Deputy Speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly after bagging 32 votes, defeating his rival candidate of opposition Nisara Abbasi by 17 votes.

The opposition candidate received only 15 votes. After the election process, the AJK Deputy Speaker took an oath to his office.

Earlier, as many as 49 out of 52 newly-elected members of the AJK Legislative Assembly took oath as members of the assembly. The outgoing Speaker Ghulam Qadir administered the oath to the newly-elected members. 

Six women were also among the members who were sworn in. 

Muslim Conference’s Sardar Atiq Ahmad Khan and Pakistan Peoples Party’s Javed Iqbal Badhanavi did not take oath as members of AJK Assembly

 Reporter Safeer Raza