PML-N wins PP-84 Khushab seat

By: News Desk
Published: 08:35 PM, 5 May, 2021
PML-N wins PP-84 Khushab seat
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz clinched victory in the PP-84 by-election, according to unofficial results.

According to the results received from polling stations of Khushab, PML-N candidate Malik Moazzam Sher Kalu bagged the seat beating the ruling PTI’s candidate.

According to the unofficial result of all 229 polling stations in Khushab, the PML-N candidate Malik Muhammad Sher Kullo emerged as a winner after bagging 73,081 votes followed by PTI candidate Ali Hussain Khan who secured 62,903 votes. 

Independent candidate Amjad Raza got 8,34 votes, independent Aurangzeb achieved 178 vote, Tehreek-e-Labbaik’s Hafiz Muhammad Asghar got 5,751 votes, independent candidate Imran Haider Khan secured 336, Peoples Party’s Ghulam Habib Khan bagged 235, independent candidates Muhammad Ilyas Awan and Naseem Abbas got 94 and 1,348 votes respectively.

The voting turnout remained 52.99%. Total 155, 089 votes were cast during the by-election and 2,792 votes were rejected.

As soon as the victory of PML-N candidate made headlines, Maryam Nawaz took to Twitter to greet her party workers and supporters. Congratulations to lions, the PML-N vice president said to her workers in a tweet. Congratulations to Malik Moazzam Sher Kalua and thanks very much to the zealous people of Khushab, she said adding the PML-N will soon bring in good days.

The PML-N beat the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf whose candidate was Ali Hussain Khan. An independent candidate Amjad Raza stood third while defunct Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan-backed candidate Hafiz Muhammad Asghar is fourth.

The voting process at 229 polling stations was continued without any interval till 5pm under strict security measures and Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) against Covid-19 third wave. Pertinent to mention here that during the voting process, as many as 750 voters in the Union Council Jora Kalan area of PP-84 Khushab have boycotted the polling process and refused to cast their votes in protest over the non-availability of facilities at the polling station.

Similarly, the voters of polling station 166 of Union Council Jora Kalan refused to cast their votes because there is only one polling station for three villages no 34, 35 and 36 (MB). There are 229 polling stations, featuring 666 polling booths including 344 for male and 322 for female voters. The total registered voters amount to 292,687 of which 155,104 are male and 137,583 female.