In-camera session of PC called to appoint ECP members 

By: 24 News      Published: 04:06 PM, 8 Nov, 2021
Election Commission of Pakistan
Election Commission of Pakistan

The in-camera session of a parliamentary committee for the appointment of two members of the Election Commission of Pakistan has been summoned, reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Monday.

The in-camera session will be held under the chair of parliamentary committee’s chairperson Dr Shireen Mazari at Parliament House. 

The session will hold a debate on the appointment of Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa members of the ECP. Before the session, the members of the parliamentary committee have also been reshuffled. 

Senator Khalida Ateeb, Senator Kamil Ali Agha, Senator Tahir Bizenjo and Senator Hadayat Ullah have been included in the parliamentary committee that will select the ECP members. 

Defence Minister Pervaiz Khattak, Education Minister Shafqat Mehmood and Minister for Development and Special Initiatives Asad Umar will participate in the in-camera session. Besides them, from the opposition parties, Rana Sana Ullah, Shiza Fatima Khwaja, Raja Pervez Ashraf and Shahida Akhtar Ali would take part in the session

It is pertinent to mention here that the Punjab and KP members of the ECP after completing their tenures were retired on July 25, 2021. 

From Punjab, Prime Minister Imran Khan suggested names of Ahsan Mehboob, Advocate Raja Amir Khan and Dr Syed Pervaiz Abbas. 

From KP, the premier floated the names of Justice ® Ikram Ullah Khan, Farid Ullah and Muzammil Khan. 

Opposition leader in the National Assembly Shehbaz Sharif suggested six names from Punjab. He recommended the names of Justice ® Tariq Iftikhar, Justice ®Mushtaq Ahmad, Khalid Masood Chaudhry, Irfan Qadir, Muhammad Javed Anwar and Irfan Ali. 

From KP, Shehbaz suggested names of Syed Afsar shah, Safdar Hussain Shah and Suhail Altaf.