History favours PML-N in NA-75 Daska

By: News Desk      Published: 06:54 PM, 9 Apr, 2021
History favours PML-N in NA-75 Daska

According to the brief election history of NA-75, Daska beginning from 1988 till date, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has won elections on six occasions, out of total eight, in the constituency while Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) have both won elections once. 

In 1988, Khursheed Alam from PPP had won in NA-75, Daska for the first and last time. 

It was Islami Jamhuri Ittehad (IJI) leader Nazeer Ahmad Khan who had won this seat in 1990. 

Later this constituency became a home ground for PML-N whose candidate Syed Iftikhar al Hassan Shah was elected from the constituency twice; first in 1993 and the second in 1997.

PML-N’s Syed Iftikhar al Hassan Shah, however, couldn’t contest the 2002 elections for not being a graduate. 

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) leader Ali Asjad Malhi was elected as Member National Assembly after defeating PPP’s Sultan Sikandar Ghumman in 2002. 

Later in 2008 elections, Malhi was defeated by Sahibzada Murtaza Amin, husband of Nausheen Iftikhar, who is now PML-N candidate in the constituency, by 49,000 votes.

Syed Iftikhar al Hassan Shah again won 2013 and 2018 elections from NA-75, Daska. 

In 2013, he defeated PTI candidate Mirza Abdul Qayyum by 65,000 votes while in 2018 he defeated PTI’s Ali Asjad Malhi by 40,000 votes.

Now on April 10, 2021, PML-N candidate Nausheen Iftikhar will face PTI’s Ali Asjad Malhi and Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) candidate Haji Khalil Sindhu.