SC seeks explanation from PM over funds release to MPs

By: News Desk      Published: 03:05 PM, 10 Feb, 2021
SC seeks explanation from PM over funds release to MPs

A five-member larger bench of the Supreme Court (SC), headed by Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Justice Gulzar Ahmed, on Wednesday, asked Prime Minister Imran Khan to explain as to why development funds were released to members of the parliament (MPs), reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

Attorney General of Pakistan (AGP) Khalid Jawed Khan told the court that as per the constitution funds could be released for the welfare of people.

Justice Qazi Faez Isa asked the AGP as to who had drafted the government’s reply. “Was it you who wrote it down or was it secretary to the prime minister,” he inquired.

The CJP remarked that secretary finance should also submit his reply in the case.

On the occasion, the secretary to the prime minister’s letter was also presented in the court.

Speaking on behalf of the prime minister, AGP Khalid Jawed Khan told the SC that the premier was fully aware that government funds could not be misused, and that the money released so far was meant for the public welfare projects and these will not land in somebody’s bank account.

The court adjourned the hearing until Thursday.

Prime Minister Imran Khan on January 27 had announced the grant of Rs500 million for each member of the National Assembly and provincial assemblies under sustainable development goals so that they can carry out development schemes for their voters.

The decision was taken in a meeting of the parliamentary party of the ruling alliance led by the PTI at the Parliament House.

The Supreme Court, on February 3, had sought an explanation from the federal government over news reports about Prime Minister Imran Khan’s announcement to release development grants to each lawmaker ahead of the Senate elections.

The court directed its office to issue notices to the federal government through the cabinet secretary or principal secretary to the prime minister, Ministry of Finance Secretary and all provincial governments through their respective chief secretaries and secretary finances.