Lockdown extended in Punjab till May 30

By: AFP      Published: 11:08 PM, 15 May, 2021
Lockdown extended in Punjab till May 30

Punjab government on Saturday extended the date of lockdown in the province from May 17 to May 30 in the wake of rising cases of the corona.

According to 24NewsHD TV Channel, the Primary and Secondary Healthcare Department of Punjab prolonged the lockdown following the worst situation of Covid-19 in Punjab.

The order said the number of Covid-19 cases was on the rise in the province of Punjab and the positivity rate in some cities was constantly rising.

With the approval of the Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar, the healthcare department extended the timings of market activates two hours from 9 am to 8 pm.

All types of inter-provincial, intercity, and intracity public transport shall operate at 50 percent of total capacity from May 16.

But, pharmacies, medical stores, medical facilities and vaccination centres, petrol pumps, tandoors, milk, and dairy shops, food takeaways and E-commerce and postal services and utility services, and media offices would remain open round the clock.

However, indoor weddings throughout the province and wedding halls, community centres, marquees and event halls would remain closed.

Outdoor weddings would remain banned in Bahawalnagar, Bahawalpur, Bhakkar, Dera Ghazi Khan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Jhang, Kasur, Khanewal, Lahore Layyah, Mianwali, Muzaffargarh, Okara, Pakpattan, Rahim Yar Khan, Rajanpur, Rawalpindi, Sargodha and Toba Take Singh.

There shall be a complete ban on Indoor and outdoor dining throughout the province and only takeaway or home delivery shall be allowed.

Amusement parks throughout the province shall remain closed, however, walking/jogging tracks shall remain open subject to strict adherence to COVID-19 SOPs.

All Citizens shall use face-covering in public spaces throughout the province.

All Public and Private offices and establishments throughout the province shall operate from 9:00 AM till 2:00 PM and follow the policy of Work from home for 50% of their staff.

All cinemas and theatres shall remain closed throughout the province.

All Shrines and Mazaars shall remain closed in Bahawalpur, Bhakkar, Dera Ghazi Khan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Mang, Kasur, Lahore, Multan, Okara, Rawalpindi, Rahim Yar Khan, Sargodha and Sheikhupura, being cities with a positivity ratio higher than 8 percent.

There shall be a complete ban on all types of indoor and outdoor gatherings throughout the province.

There shall be a complete ban on sports, festivals, cultural, social and other events throughout the province.

Industrial and Agricultural activities and establishments shall remain exempt from the operation of this order.

District administration and Police shall work in close liaison to ensure strict implementation of this order.