PM restructures ECNEC

Abdul Hafeez Sheikh becomes chairman while Asad, Bakhtiyar, Hammad, Jawan Bakht, Nisar Khuhro and Taimur Saleem are members

By: News Desk      Published: 10:16 PM, 18 Jan, 2021
PM restructures ECNEC
A file photo of an ECNEC meeting with Hafeez Sheikh in the chair.

Prime Minister Imran Khan has restructured the Executive Committee of National Economic Council (ECNEC).

The premier made Abdul Hafeez Sheikh ECNEC chairman and Asad Umer, Khusro Bakhtiyar, Hammad Azhar, Makhdoom Hashim Jawan Bakht (Punjab), Nisar Ahmed Khuhro (Sindh) and Taimur Saleem Khan Jhagra (KP) members.

Adviser to PM on Commerce and Industry Abdul Razak Dawood and Adviser to PM on Institutional Reforms and Austerity Dr Ishrat Hussain are no more members of the council.

Two months after coming to power in 2018, PM Khan reconstituted the ECNEC with Finance Minister Asad Umar as the chairman and Khusro Bakhtiar, Razak Dawood, Dr Ishrat, Jawan Bakht, Nisar Khuhro, Taimur and Tariq Khan Magsi were the members.