PM Imran Khan appoints new PTI top officebearers

Asad Umar appointed party secy general: Shafqat Mehmood Punjab president, Khattak KP President

By: News Desk
Published: 02:18 PM, 25 Dec, 2021
PM Imran Khan appoints new PTI top officebearers
Caption: File photo.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

A day after dissolving all party organisations, Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday announced new officebearers of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

The prime minister has appointed Federal Planning Minister Asad Umar as PTI’s new Secretary General.

Federal Information and Broadcasting Minister Chaudhry Fawad Hussain announced the new party appointments after Prime Minister Imran Khan reorganized the PTI.

In a tweet, Fawad said Pervez Khattak has been appointed as PTI Khyber Pakhtunkhwa President, Ali Zaidi Sindh President, Qasim Suri Balochistan President, Shafqat Mehmood Punjab President and Khusro Bakhtiar South Punjab President.

In another tweet, Fawad said Prime Minister Imran Khan has also nominated Amir Mahmood Kiani as PTI's Additional Secretary General.

On Friday, Prime Minister Imran Khan had dissolved all PTI organisations across the country after suffering an embarrassing defeat in the recently held first phase of local government elections in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Also Read: Imran dissolves PTI organizations, constitutes committee for new party structure

The prime minister had expressed dissatisfaction over the party's performance in KP local body polls. He said that according to the results of the elections in village councils, the PTI was still the "biggest party in the province".