Re-polling at 4 polling stations in LA-16 Bagh underway

By: 24 News
Published: 10:35 AM, 29 Jul, 2021
Re-polling at 4 polling stations in LA-16 Bagh underway
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The re-polling at four polling stations of Azad Kashmir’s constituency LA-16 Bagh has started today (Thursday), reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

Reportedly, the voting on the polling stations: 42, 134, 135 and 136 is currently underway. As many as 2,380 voters are registered in these four constituencies of the LA-16 Bagh. The polling process has started at 8am today and will continue till 5pm. 

During the AJK general election held on July 25, the balloting could not be held in these polling stations due to a scuffle that broke out between the political workers in Barri Gehal area of Bagh. The political activists indulged in aerial firing following that the election commission has stopped the balloting in these polling stations

A tough competition is expected between PTI candidate Sardar Mir Akbar and PPP candidate Sardar Qamar Zaman. 

Out of 45 seats in the Azad Jammu and Kashmir assembly for which the election was held on July 25, the PTI won 25 seats followed by the PPP which grabbed 11 seats and PML-N could manage to secure six seats. 

Muslim Conference and Jammu Kashmir People’s Party could win one seat each.

After winning 25 seats, the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf I is in a comfortable position to form government in the AJK.