ECP de-notifies 11 PTI MNAs

By: News Desk
Published: 06:47 PM, 29 Jul, 2022
ECP de-notifies 11 PTI MNAs
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) Friday de-notified 11 Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) members of the National Assembly (MNAs), reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

Earlier in the day, the ECP received 11 resignations given by the PTI MNAs and approved by National Assembly (NA) Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf.

The ECP had convened a meeting to hold consultations over deciding the fate of these resignations.

NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf had yesterday (Thursday, July 28, 2022) accepted the resignations of these MNAs after consultations with leaders of the parties forming the coalition government at Center. 

It is pertinent to mention here that all the PTI MNAs had submitted their resignations after the success of the no-confidence motion against former prime minister Imran Khan.

However, the speaker initially accepted the resignations of 11 MNAs.

The lawmakers, whose resignations were accepted, were Shireen Mazari, Ali Muhammad Khan, Fazl Muhammad Khan, Shaukat Khan, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Farrukh Habib, Ijaz Shah, Akram Cheema, Jamil Ahmad Khan, Shandana Gulzar and Abdul Shakoor Shaad.

However, the list did not include the name of PTI Chairman Imran Khan and Vice Chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi.

Reporter: Usman Khan

Categories : Latest, Pakistan