WhatsApp group admins get SUPERPOWER!

By: News Desk
Published: 11:23 AM, 30 Jul, 2022
WhatsApp group admins get SUPERPOWER!
Caption: Representational image.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

If you are an admin of a WhatsApp group, you can now delete any message for everyone. WhatsApp is releasing a feature for the same. However, it will be available to only some beta testers. 

Are you an admin of any WhatsApp group? If yes, you are getting a superpower! Based on the latest information provided by WABetaInfo, WhatsApp is releasing a feature that lets group admins delete any message for everyone. However, what needs to be noted is that the feature is available to some beta testers only.

"WhatsApp beta for Android 2.22.17.12: what's new? *WhatsApp is releasing a feature that lets group admins delete any message for everyone, available to some lucky beta testers!," WABetaInfo tweeted.

The feature called admin delete is being enabled for WhatsApp group admins so that they can moderate their groups on the messaging platform better, informed WABetaInfo in a report.

"If you want to verify if the feature is enabled for your WhatsApp account, the procedure is very easy: if you are a group admin and you try to delete an incoming message and you see the option “delete for everyone”, it means the feature is available," the report further added.

Also, when you delete a message for everyone, sent by another group participant, other people can always see that you have deleted that message since your name shows up within the chat bubble.

Meanwhile, if the feature is not available for your account, you can know that there is nothing to worry as the rollout for this feature is slow and only some beta testers can already experiment with it and more activations will be following over the coming weeks.

What is Delete messages for everyone

The feature called deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to an individual or group chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake. Once you delete a message for everyone, the text of the message gets replaced with the message saying "This message was deleted".

How to delete messages for everyone

Step 1: 

Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.

Step 2: 

Tap and hold the message. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.

Step 3: 

Tap Delete > Delete for everyone.

–HT Tech